The red brick building was built in 1911, after a major fire destroyed the previous site. It is an iconic local landmark, formerly housing the famous Camper & Nicholson’s workshops and offices for the boatyard on the same site. The building appears on a list of locally significant buildings, meaning all works and modifications require local planning consent.
The plans are for a sympathetic refurbishment that will return the building to its former glory by: repainting the brick work, reconditioning the windows, replacing damaged lintels and sills and adjusting the windows on the eastern elevation. Work is expected to commence before the end of 2018.
As part of the continued investment in Gosport Marina, Premier Marinas is planning an external refurbishment of the historic building at Endeavour Quay Boatyard.